My little girl wants to be “skinny” when she grows up

Things have been going well.  I went for my annual physical with my doctor and he is thrilled at the changes we’ve been making.  I’m continuing to lose weight at a good pace, but was a little nervous going into the doctor’s office.

You know that feeling you get when you wonder whether or not your scale will match what the doctor’s scale will show?

The doctor’s scale said I was lighter!  His scale showed me at 246.8 lbs!!!! WOOT!

I’ve been craving sushi for a while and have resisted, but I figured it was time to have a small celebration and take the family out for lunch to sushi.  It was so good.  I even managed to stay under my calorie goal for the day!  YEY!!!!

IMG_1993[1]

During our lunch, I was telling the wife about the appointment and how excited the doctor was that we were all getting more healthy.  Then my daughter tells us that “when I grow up, I want to be skinny”.  We asked her where she heard that to which she wouldn’t answer.  She said it was her idea and she wants to be skinny.  The wife and I told her that she should want to be healthy, not just “skinny”.  She didn’t understand.  So I showed her the picture below.

IMG_1995[1]

This is the picture I got when I searched for the skinniest person alive.  I showed her the picture and she got a little grossed out.  SCORE!

IMG_1994[1]

We then explained to her what it meant to be fit and that fitness comes in all sizes, and she should want to worry about being healthy, not a specific size.  She understood and agreed – PARENTING WIN!

So, we’re continuing to do our thing and getting better every day.

I got to play tennis with a friend of mine and (as always) when we were done I took a crack at the monkey bars.  I made it all the way across this time without putting my feet up early, without rushing, and without skipping any bars.  It was also the easiest it’s been thus far.  More progress! WOOT!

I’m also very proud of my wife, she’s lost a crap load of weight as well and I see her getting more fit daily.  WIN WIN!

 

 

Leave a Reply

